Advent Day 9: I’m grateful for meditation.

I never really know what to say to people who tell me that meditation is not for them. My first reaction is to think that perhaps they haven’t found the right kind of meditation for them, or they weren’t taught it well, or they haven’t really put much heart into practicing it. Or that they haven’t been pushed to the point of needing it desperately.

In my experience, meditation has a similar effect to classical music. The first time I ever sat within a large rehearsing choir, the harmony of voices made something deep in my core vibrate and stand perfectly still at the same time. It was love at first listen.

Meditation was more slow-burn; it took some time, dedication and discipline before it started to come naturally. And it keeps evolving. The paradox was different, though. I find that it draws me deep into the centre of my being, so I’m sitting right in the centre of my self, connected; while at the same time creating space around my feelings, thoughts… and internal organs, almost.

It’s not always easy, though. Some days it’s uncomfortable, twitchy, distracted, frustrating, and almost impossible, a bit like a crappy choir rehearsal. A bit like bad turn days in ballet class. Some days you just can’t turn. They just remind me to be kind to myself, and forgiving. And that all things pass.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

