Research that discombobulates us.

I can’t think of all the examples off the top of my head, but I am truly grateful for inspired people who persisted with their curiosity– no matter what it was driven by– to disrupt our ideas of what is fixed and immutable and what is changeable; to drag into the light and dust off ideas and parts of ourselves that we have hidden in the dark; and to throw a spanner in the normative works constructed by a lifetime of conditioning, punishment and reward.

Basically, to show us ourselves more clearly…. because the thing that makes us distinctly human is self-awareness.

Here are some recent-ish things that have made me rethink myself or the way the world works.

Two notes: (a) I included the pot article not so much because I have reservations about legalising pot (which I do, but that’s another story), but because it refers to studies that reflect on the way we act, even when drunk, in response to what we believe is “acceptable”; and (b) I know there are a lot of TEDTalks, but can you blame me? 🙂

Brené Brown: Listening to shame

Brené Brown: The power of vulnerability

Article: This Woman Had Her Face Photoshopped In Over 25 Countries To Examine Global Beauty Standards

Article: Candy’s Dandy, but Pot’s Scary

Hardwiring Happiness

I’m grateful for research that flips things over.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

