Bread.

20140626-122143-44503799.jpg
I love bread. Not just for what it represents in the broader general sense and in the Biblical sense, but also just because it’s one of the most delicious ways to consume carbs (especially when paired with cheese and/or some kind of thinly-sliced meat. I can eat an entire baguette myself, with several hunks of cheese, a little ham, a little jam and some pickle. And some stone-fruit (apricots go well with blue cheese; but then I have funny taste-buds sometimes). Nom.

That’s why I wish I could write a poem in Latin* that starts with Fiat Panis… continuing with fiat-something, and that keeps going in the rhyming scheme and meter of the Dies Irae of the Requiem. You know:

Dies irae! Dies illa / Solvet sæclum in favilla: / Teste David cum Sibylla!

*wistful look*

Ah, well. I’ll just have to settle for a humble post humbly expressing my gratitude for bread and for the crazy-huge myriad varieties of bread in existence. That’s until I decide to learn Latin one day….


*Unfortunately, choir Latin doesn’t help me much with actually using the language; only to sing deceptively cheerful drinking songs toasting academia, professors and students. And also many and elaborate ways of chastely toasting a Catholic god, usually in several movements (though sometimes in motets).

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

