Domestic animal companions.

20140610-191422-69262419.jpg
One of my dearest friends Lauren posted this, and I immediately thought of how grateful I am for the companionship and affection of domesticated animals. I’ve been really lucky to have travelled a fair bit, but, as with all things, it is one edge of a double-edged sword. I often miss having a household animal or two, particularly dogs. The cynical will say that they are merely attaching to us because they need shelter and food. I would counter with the fact that we ALL perform for that reason, humans more than any other species. How much do we have to rein in, how many smiles do we have to fake, how many times have we had to work closely with people we don’t like in the least, in order to earn our daily bread and keep? And for so many other reasons otherwise. Dogs and cats are lovely and sweet and innocent of guile, and I love them for that.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

