Abundance.

20140607-002334-1414518.jpg

I’m grateful for abundance. I’m grateful that I can go to a market and buy the most beautiful, delicious fruits and vegetables that grew in the warmth of the sun, the showers of rain, the shelter of soil and trees, and the care of farmers, growers, agriculturists, and even home gardeners.

I’m grateful that I was born and live in parts of the world where abundance is so taken for granted that we are blissfully unaware of the long, risky and possibly even perilous journey each component of each item of food on our tables has endured.

Many of us don’t need to think about the connection between rainfall, seasons, temperature, bees, disasters… and the bread we spread Nutella on and eat on the run; the coffee beans that keep us awake and the tea leaves that keep us sane; the leg of duck or ribs of lamb or beef patty that we decide we will cook tonight.

It frightens me, sometimes, that we would probably have very little warning when things begin to go very wrong; but I am grateful for every day that I am insulated from hunger, that I can feed myself with good, healthy food, and that Nature continues to seem indulgent and kind.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

