A Zero-to-Hero attempt: I’m grateful for comfort-browsing.

This was really not a very easy task. I’m not good at picking out blogs, articles or websites to share, partly because my interests are very wide and varying, and partly because I don’t spend a lot of time just browsing randomly. My use of the internet is very targeted. But there are some websites I like going to when I need empathy, or a laugh, or something to soothe a miserable day.

1. Leunig’s poetry and work

Leunig is an Australian cartoonist, poet, artist… whose work is regularly published in the mainstream press. His poetry and cartoons are sweet, funny, poignant in a gentle way, and environmentally-, politically- and resource-conscious. There is a softness and inherent soothing kindness in his work that I just love, and also a childlike innocence.

2. Hyperbole and a half

Everyone probably knows about this one by now. I like the direct, simple way it manages to convey otherwise very complex subjects. I empathised deeply with several posts. It does what many writers and journalists have tried to do with mixed success– which was to make difficult-to-discuss and hard-to-understand experiences, such as depression, much easier to access and to empathise with. It is a superb example of communications done right to get a point across. The style reminds me of the book I Had A Black Dog by Matthew Johnstone.

3. The Oatmeal

I like the wittiness and quirkiness of this site. I love whimsy, and this site has it in barrel-loads. I don’t always get the humour, but sometimes it really hits the nail on the head.

zero-to-hero-badge ~ This is a Zero to Hero blog post. ~

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

