I’m grateful for friends.

FriendsThis is a Creative Commons picture that I forgot to take down the license details for. Bad comms person. *smacks self on the wrist* It won’t happen again. 

Especially the ones who stayed around for the really crappy weather. My foulweather friends are the best. When you’ve moved around as much as I have, your soul-sister type best friends are all over the world, and still moving. So I am happy that we are still in touch. Friends are a funny thing. I know people who need lots of people, and people who need very few people. I only need people I can connect with easily and deeply. Smalltalk bores me to tears. I can do cocktail parties, in the way one can endure getting your wisdom tooth out, but I’d rather be at home with a cup of tea and a good book. Of course, I see the irony. How would you find said connective friends unless you actually go out? Well, yes. I now understand the function of alcohol. The same reason they put anaesthetic in your gums…

Man, I am so grateful for friends. Not just because they catch you when you fall or at least throw you a rope when you’re right at the bottom of the well, OR at least throw food and drink down… but because the best bits of life are the bits where you can just let it all hang out, or babble without being judged, laugh till you’re sure you’re going to die of asphyxiation,  or even just sit in silent food comas at the same table and groan about never overeating again. They are angels in casual clothes.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

