I’m grateful for self-compassion.

There’ll be some days when gratitude is just a bit harder to shore up than others (ok, admittedly, I didn’t expect one to come along quite so soon into the new year). They’re the ones that chase crappy sleep, active nightmares and stupid, pointless arguments. That’s when I indulge and gently lead my sulky, resentful self away from the practice of gratitude and work on another productive habit– self-compassion. It’s amazing, the things we say to ourselves sometimes, in a constant growl in our heads that wears leather wings, hoofs, horns and a pitchfork. Why can’t I be grateful today, why do I feel so low, what right do I have to feel so low when there are others who have it so much worse than I do out there, what is wrong with me…? To rework that conversation is to start rewiring our brain for happiness.

If that fails, I’m grateful for long, hot lavender baths.

One thought on “I’m grateful for self-compassion.

Send me sunshine, light and love! :) Constructive criticism is also welcome.

